go-to banana sponge cake

Everyone has that one default recipe they’ve tried, which is so good and suits everyone’s likes that they just are unwilling to change it, right? Well, I have my go-to banana sponge cake recipe right here.

IMG_6698

It’s simple, no frills. I was searching for a really easy and fuss-free banana cake one day, whilst figuring out how to construct my grandmother’s birthday cake for a celebration the next day. While I’m perfectly willing to make an elaborate, over the top cake for the woman whose first sparked my interest in cooking, she was the one who I was catering for. And my traditionalist of a grandmother dislikes anything overly laden with butter, hates eating cream, and generally is a minimalist.

In fact, up till a couple of years ago, I wasn’t even sure if she liked cake. Granted, it’s still not one of her favourite foods, but I couldn’t fathom celebrating her birthday without a cake. Banana cakes are something she will willingly eat, and not get extorted in to trying a minuscule bite, so its quite expected for me to whip up a banana cake recipe.

We would be celebrating after a heavy Thai dinner, so I also wanted something light, not too cloying, but heavily scented with banana. Throwing ideas left right centre, I eventually came up with this banana sponge cake recipe that ended up to be a hit.

IMG_6694Plus point: it’s easy to make too, with minimal clean up! I just dump the sugar, eggs and sliced bananas in to the mixing bowl and let it mix while i measure out the flour, stir the flour in and put the whole mixing bowl on my electronic scale, pour in the coconut oil, and I only have to wash two bowls, the whisks and a spatula.

IMG_6696

The baking pan is lined, so its just a rinse!

My aunt and uncle had two slices each, and the only two pieces left over from the square cake I baked was taken home by my younger cousin, so she could have it for breakfast the next day.

IMG_6699

I topped her cake with caramelized bananas, and dusted it with cocoa powder and dessicated coconut to make it look more festive.

IMG_6703

The second time round I baked this though, I left it as it is, and it still tasted divine. It may look plain and not even golden, but don’t let its plain Jane looks deceive you. One bite would be enough to tell you that its fragrant, and its texture fluffy and delightful.

Banana Sponge Cake

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 100gm sugar
  • 200g peeled, very ripe banana
  • 150g self raising flour
  • 100g coconut oil

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 160C, and grease your baking pan.
  2. Slice banana in to small pieces, and whisk the sliced bananas with the eggs at high speed.
  3. Add in sugar and whisk till ribbon stage, and looks fluffy, doubling in size.
  4. Fold in flour with a spatula and mix well.
  5. Add in oil and stir/mix till batter is shiny.
  6. Bake for 35 minutes.
  7. Increase the heat to 180C and continue baking for another 5 minutes. Let cool before slicing and serving.

Leave a comment